skip to Main Content

xplan xmerge

Search
Generic filters
Exact matches only
Filter by Custom Post Type

Try these: client detailstasks syntaxsuperannuation

Objectives

Xmerge everything from the standard objective group in Xplan:

Setec Astronomy

<:for item in $client.objectives:>
Category: <:=item.category:>
Description: <:=item.description:>
<:end:>

Objective Group Fields

All the fields below can be used in the loop above:

Field

Path

Syntax

Owner owner <:=item.owner:>
Description description <:=item.description:>
Category category <:=item.category:>
Status status <:=item.status:>
Priority priority <:=item.priority:>
Advice Type advice_type <:=item.advice_type:>
Advice Scope advice_scope <:=item.advice_scope:>
Capture Date capture_date <:=item.capture_date:>
Targets    
Time Frame (Years) time_frame_yrs <:=item.time_frame_yrs:>
Time Frame (months) time_frame_mths <:=item.time_frame_mths:>
Target Amount target_amount <:=item.target_amount:>
Target Age target_age <:=item.target_age:>
Partner Target Age partner_target_age <:=item.partner_target_age:>
Objective Level Risk Profile objective_level_risk_tolerance <:=item.objective_level_risk_tolerance:>
Other    
Adviser Identified Need(AIN) adviser_identified <:=item.adviser_identified:>
Comments comment <:=item.comment:>
Consequences Explained consequences_explained <:=item.consequences_explained:>
Adviser Comments adviser_comments <:=item.adviser_comments:>
Other Considerations other_considerations <:=item.other_considerations:>

Check for Objectives

The len() function is a simple method to check if any records exist and if none are found you can use the else to display other information or content as needed:

Setec Astronomy

<:if len($client.objectives):>
<:for item in $client.objectives:>
Description: <:=item.description:>
<:end:>
<:else:>
No objectives recorded
<:end:>

Filtering Objectives

Use the syntax below as a guide for filtering group data like this.

In the example below we are filtering the objectives down to open (status 1) retirement (category 5) objectives for the client only (owner):

Setec Astronomy

<:if len($client.objectives.filter(‘category=5’).filter(‘owner=Client’).filter(‘status=1’)):>
<:for item in $client.objectives.filter(‘category=5’).filter(‘owner=Client’).filter(‘status=1’):>
Category: <:=item.category:>
Description: <:=item.description:>
<:end:>
<:end:>

Alternative approach

A different approach that allows for a lot more flexibility when dealing with multiple conditions is shown below.  You will note that code can also be more human friendly – instead of relying on knowing that status 1 = open we can easily write that as part of the filtering:

Setec Astronomy

<:for item in [x for x in $client.objectives if str(x.category.text)==’Retirement’ and str(x.status.text) == ‘Open’]:>
Description: <:=item.description:>
<:end:>

Notes

But what are objectives?

Objectives are the overarching aspirational sum of what the client is trying to achieve, for example a retirement objective might be “retire comfortably by 70”.

See also

Back To Top